2018 Mileage Totals

You’ve all been waiting for them and here they are – Horse and Rider/Driver Mileage Totals for 2018:


2018 Horse Mileage 0 202 downloads


2018 Rider/Driver Mileage 0 221 downloads


Board of Directors Elections

Slate of officers and board members for 2021:
  • President: Rebecca Wachtel
  • VP: Joan Hilz
  • Secretary: Susie Benson
  • Treasurer: Megan Thompson


  • Dr. Martha Demson
  • Jim Theurer
  • Jenny Kimberly
  • Carolyn Blocker
  • Diana Murphy

Additional candidates may be nominated by the membership at large, each candidate having been endorsed in writing by not less than ten(10) adult members.  Nominations to be in the hands of the secretary not later than thirty(30) days prior to the annual meeting.

Congratulations to the Winner of Our Very Exciting 50th Anniversary Logo Contest!

The winner is: Lucy McNulty of Vermont

Runner up:  Janet Citron of Pennsylvania

Many thanks to all those that entered!

If you would like to order one of our limited edition T-shirts, please send a check made out to ECTRA for $16.50 per shirt (this includes shipping) to:

Kate Vogel

160 Vienna Rd

Howell NJ 07731

Please include the following information with your order:

  • # of T Shirts requested
  • Address shirts need to be mailed to
  • Don’t forget to include size of shirt!
    • Small
    • Medium
    • Large
    • Extra Large

Many people may not know, but the original ECTRA logo was designed  by the very talented artist Helen Jordan who is perhaps more well known for her head studies of Arabians so it’s fitting that our anniversary logo is also a horse head.

Pine Tree Endurance Cancelled!

Sad to report The Pine Tree Endurance (Pioneer) Ride for 2020 is being cancelled. Maine’s 14 day quarantine and the limit of 50 people per gathering makes it impossible to hold the ride. Plus we would have to hold it without Art King and we can’t do that! Please join us next year August 10-14, 2021 at Fryeburg Fairgrounds, Fryeburg Maine. (Tentative dates)

ECTRA Logo Contest

To all ECTRA members

As you may know this is ECTRAs 50th Birthday year With all the cancelled rides we are sure you are looking for lots of ways to fill your time. Time to get those creative juices flowing and design a 50th anniversary logo for limited edition T Shirts, Year-End awards, etc.

Here are the rules:

  • The competition is open to all current ECTRA members
  • Keep it simple as its for a logo
  • All entries must be submitted by July 15th

The board will pick the winner. Please submit you entries to Kate Vogel. So get creative and have fun!!

Rulebook Changes for 2020 Ride Year

New Rulebook for 2020.  See changes below!


ECTRA Rulebook 2020 693.79 KB 45 downloads


Rulebook Changes for 2020 Ride Year

Section I. W. Specific Rules for Conditioning Distance Rides (CDR) and
Drives (CDD) p.11.
The rules for a CDR & CDD will essentially follow the rules
of a standard Competitive Trail Ride (CTR). Scoring, trot out patterns and ride
time will mirror a standard ride. If a pass/fail option is offered such CDR will
essentially follow the rules of the pass/fail option for a CTR. Leg protection, a
simple down and back trot out, no time penalty if time is within 30 minutes of
minimum & maximum and an all in one final vetting. This is not all inclusive
explanation of details. You do need to review the rules in the rulebook.

Section I. Y. 5. Drug & Medication Rules p.12. The rules were updated by
putting them into a list or outline format. Also the reference to the number of
horses to be tested has been changed to read “The number of Competitive
Events and horses per event to be tested each year shall be determined by
the Drug Testing Committee based on the testing budget available.” And we
changed the name of the committee to reflect the current one, “Drug Testing

Section I. Z. Protection of Youth p.13. After careful review of the federal
government’s Safer Sports Act, it was decided that our organization was not
required to establish special training programs. However, each state already
has laws in place that require and protect those that report abuse. This
section was added to make sure anyone involved with our sport knows they
have the legal responsibility to report such abuse as well as having a legal
right to specific protection for making such report.

Section VI. Sanctioning B. Types of Events ECTRA Will Sanction 1.
Limited Distance p. 24.
Limited Distance rides will cover one day events
from 25 to 40 miles a day. Previously the limit was 50 miles. We don’t believe
there have been any CTR’s of 50 miles in over 30 years.

Section VIII Awards G. Junior Awards 1. Limited Distance p. 31. This was
changed to reflect the maximum of 40 miles for 1 day rides as noted in VI.B.1.
Section VIII Awards G. Junior Awards 2. Multi-Distance p. 31 Previously a
Junior had to complete at least 2 multi-day rides. It now allows juniors who
have only completed 1 multi-day ride to be included in awards for that

Section VIII. Awards H. Horse Awards Special 4. Rookie Horse Perpetual
Award. p. 31.
The definition of a Rookie horse has been clarified with a bit
more detail.

Section VIII. Awards J. Member Awards Special 2. Mrs. Mary Coleman
(Web) Award. p. 31.
The definition for a Rookie rider has been clarified with a
bit more detail.

Section IX. Point Schedules p. 34 Additional mileage combinations were
added to the chart to make it easier to figure out points.

E.C.T.R.A. By-Laws Article V Election of Officers & Directors. p. 36
Revision to permit ballots to be included in newsletter, not mailed; to not
require a ballot vote if a board position or officer is uncontested (only 1
candidate per opening), and to permit electronic voting if the club chooses to
do so.